1. Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, ar

While it maybe true that Plean baskets may also exist in other cultures such as Lithos, this author's argument does not provide enough evidence and is rife with holes and assumptions. More surveys or evidences are required to a increased funding.

To begin with, the author implies that the Brim River between Palea and Lithos is wide and deep, thus Palean could not cross the river without boat. However, in archaeology, one must consider all the circumstances in a prehistorical situation. To strengthen the author's argument, he/she need to investigate how the river was like during Palean's time. It is quite likely that the Brim River was newly born at that time, therefore is easy for Palean and Brim to walk or swim across the river.

What's more, given the Brim River was indeed deep and broad, the arthor's argument that Palean were not able to cross it because no boat was found is still not concrete. Archaeologists are making new discoveries on a daily basis, and may find a Palean boat in the future, so no one can say for sure if people in Palea had the ability to cross the river at that time.

Lastly, the author concluded that the woven baskets with Palean characteristics found in Lithos must originated there, for his/her aforementioned evidences preclude any possibility of Palean transporting baskets to Lithos. However, more investigation on the Lithos is needed to demonstrate this conclusion. Although it may be true that Palean couldn't cross the Brim River, but we did not know if it was people in Lithos, who somehow have the ability to built boats, played the role of communication between these two places across the river and brought Palean baskets back to their own village. Without this confirmed, the conclusion is not persuasive at all.

A woven basket found in Lithos is quite likely to show that it is not unique to Palea, but the arguments provided by the author here are clearly not enough to reach such a conclusion, and deeper and more thorough exploration is required to get a scienfitic and accurate conclusion.