130.The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memorandum, the author claims that the Happy Pancake House should extend this change which replace butter to margarine to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country. Although this argument may seem convincing at first, the unsubstantiated assumption makes me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the author assumes that customers do not have much complaints which Happy Pancake House should concern because only 2 percent of customers have complained for replaced margarine. However, as the change has been made recently, it is possible that survey had been made with only few customers. If the total number of the customers participated to the survey is marginal, the result of the survey from 2 percent of customers could be significant. Also the complaint from customers should be observed in long run because the change has made recently.

Furthermore, the author's another assumption is that the customers cannot distinguish the difference butter from margarine or they use the term "butter" confusingly. The author argues that customers do not complain for the butter because they simply cannot distinguish the different. However it is possible that customers do not complain for the margarine not because they cannot distinguish the difference but because they disappointed to the service of the Pancake House. If they simply disappointed to the service of restaurants and minded not to visit the Pancake House anymore, they do not have to ask for restaurants to change and complain.

Lastly, the author falsely assumes that sales in the southwestern United States would be equivalent throughout country. Even if the customers in southwestern United States do not have complaints, the customers in other regions of the country would not be same. It is possible that customers in other regions would dislike the margarine more than southwestern area, in such case, the author cannot generalize the southwestern area as whole country.

In conclusion, the author's claim is not sound on many grounds. To bolster the argument, the author should add statistics on survey, provide solid evidence of customer’s preference on butter and margarine.