In 1992 many farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone designed to produce larger cows that would produce more milk Since then childhood obesity in Jalikistan has grown by 200 percent The amount of milk and dairy consumed by children in this area has no

The given argument is initiated with the claim that the usage of hormones to produce larger cows, which would produce more milk, led to an increase in childhood obesity in Jalikistan. The author has passed three statements in support of his claim. On an overview, the claim seems believable based on the facts. However, on analyzing the claim on all perspectives, one can identify various loopholes and flaws within the argument. These flaws are a result of vague assumptions and facts that have been presented as evidence in support of the claim made by the argument.

The author vaguely says that many farmers started using the hormone in 1992. He has not specified how many does he mean by "many". A number would have helped to support the claim as one can only imagine how many farmers began this practice, and on how many cows was this practiced upon. Also, the year 1992 was a long time ago and the author has failed to mention if this practice is still continued today. No mention of the success or failure or other implications of this practice leads us to believe that this fact is based on incomplete data, and thus cannot be taken seriously.

A second claim is made by the author that childhood obesity in Jalikistan grew by 200 percent since 1992. However, how did he come to this number is not mentioned. The survey that may have given this data, might have been implemented on a particular population of the city where the children were more prone to obesity. Along with survey details, other details behind the cause of obesity, like obese family members, food habits, lifestyle, etc. would have helped to justify this claim that the author has clearly failed to mention.

Another statement made by the author that the lactose-intolerant children, who drink almond or soy milk, did not have the same increase in childhood obesity, is the weakest link in the argument. Almond and soy milk are healthier alternatives for cow milk, as they have much less fat in them. Stored fat is the main cause of obesity. Thus, the children who are taking cow milk alternatives will surely have a low risk of obesity. This has no relation with the hormones of the milk-producing cow, thus rendering this statement made by the author null and void.

The author has made an effort to prove his claim by providing reasons, which are clearly not adequate to take a stand on this matter. More knowledge on this matter, scientific researches and detailed survey details are required to make this claim believable, which the author has failed to do. Thus, the claim that in 1992 Jalikistan, growth inducing hormones used on cows led to an increase in childhood obesity, is not convincing as the argument has failed to present solid evidence in its support.