According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

With the information provided, the assumption leading to conclusion remains unfounded. This argument is well presented yet far-fetched. This argument claims that there is a great solution for cheating in the academic setting which is considerably crucial. Indeed, Groveton College has adopted an honor code, which the students are not agreeing with cheating. Hence, the conclusion is ill-founded.

The primary assumption underlying the author’s conclusion is that the new procedure is based on promise from student which is highly imperative and pivotal. Nevertheless, he fails to preclude other possibility that there is might be students give up their promises. As a matter of fact, we all know that some students forgot their promise during their exam or they take a modicum of amount of heed to their promise. Want of such prudent answers make a author assumption full of holes. So, to reinforce the argument the author should have provided information about whether they are adhere to their promise or not due to the fact the betray is greatly common in the current era without a shadow of doubt.

Furthermore, the author of the statement avers that all of College ought to adopt this approach. Inasmuch as, situation of them is disparate we cannot compare each other without a further investigation which is so highly pivotal for overgeneralize. So, to reinforce the argument the author should have provided information about detail of personality of student.

Moreover, it would be wrong to conclude that reason of Groveton College's has reduced due to sole implementing honor cod. Without considering and ruling other possible reason into to account that there is a tremendous number of measurement for preventing cheat, which the author may not be aware of such as the presence of camera, question variety and so forth. By considering this fact, we can observe that exerting honor code is not sole factor. Indeed, this event could be causing multiple reasons which are immensely pivotal. So, to reinforce the argument the author should have discussed about other approach for declining cheating.

In short, as discussed the conclusion cannot be tenable. The author of the statement should have provided information about situation other College and the presence of the manner for forestalling cheat such as increasing of the personality and so forth. On the other hand, to make a rigid conclusion is very myopic observation method. After all, feckless attempt with a fallible method could be nothing but a fool's errand.