According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

1. The drop in the absolute number of cases of cheating does not necessarily indicate cheating is less common

- The number of students each year is not shown. Maybe there are fewer students in the year where there was only 14 cases

2. The numbers of cheating between the first year and the fifth year are not given

- It is possible that there are a large number of cheating in these years so that the average number of cheating has actually not reduced

3. The number of cheating reported by the students is not necessarily true

- Because one student cannot see all other students during an exam, maybe he simply missed some cheatings

- Maybe he deliberately did not report because he did not want to get into trouble or wanted to abet the student who cheated

4. The survery does not necessarily show what the students really think

- Maybe honor codes actually made cheating even easier and the students want the university to keep it, so they claimed to be less likely to cheat under the honor code system

5. Even if the policy worked for Groveton College, it is not guaranteed to work for all other universities.