According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given report, the author suggest that the honor codes implemented in Groveton College should be adopted by all colleges and universities in order to decrease the cheating among students. However, the argument is flawed for numerous following reasons, as it relies upon unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the author hastily assumes that the honor codes effectively decrease the number of cheating in Groveton College because the number of cheating reports has dropped significantly. However, this is a weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not take into consideration of the differences between when teachers monitor and report cheatings and when students report their peers’ cheating. Even though there is no difference between two systems, it is possible that teachers are more likely to rigorously monitor and report than students do about their peers’ behaviors. If this is the case, even if the number of cheating report has been decreased, it might be just superficial, as many students condone their peers’ misbehaviors. To evaluate this argument, therefore, the author should ask if students are monitoring their peers as rigorously as the teachers had.

Secondly, even if the assumption above is somehow guaranteed to be true, the author still unreasonably assumes that the result of the recent survey, which shows that students answered they would cheat less with an honor code, can be trusted. However, commonsense tells us that it is possible that responded students lied to the questionnaire knowing that the result of the survey would be shared with the teachers of the school. Therefore, to corroborate the argument, the author should ask a question that if the survey secured the high credibility by ensuring students of confidentiality. If the argument showed somehow that most of the students were honest about their answers, the argument would be more convincing.

Lastly, the author makes a false analogy by claiming that an honor code worked in Groveton College would work in all universities and colleges in the country. However, this is a weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any clear connection between Groveton College and all other schools in the country when it comes to adopting an honor code and its effectiveness. To evaluate this argument, the author should ask two questions. One is whether the national survey suggests the cheating is ‘on the rise’ indicates the overall increase across the country, or it is only led by a few schools had an exceptionally high cheating record. The other one is whether Groveton and all other universities and colleges share enough similarities that can guarantee the effectiveness of adopting the same honor code. If the author cannot provide answers that can bolster the argument, this claim cannot be evaluated.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and therefore it is dubious. In order to evaluate the value of the decision, it is essential to have full knowledge of all answers of the questions suggested.