An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument avers that a recent study has proved that lavender may cure insomnia within a short period of time. This conclusion is buttressed by evidence which should be carefully scrutinized in order to give a comprehensive estimation of the argument's soundness.

First of all, we need to look at the sample of the research which is used by the writer as supportive evidence. Is it representative? Perhaps group which consists of 30 volunteers is too small and the group does not represent all possible cases of insomnia. Moreover, we were not told about control group and thus likeliness exists that these findings characterize the group only and should not be extrapolated on all population.

Furthermore, the author tends to attribute the improvement in volunteers conditions to the curative effect of the scent of lavender flowers, at the same time, some unstated factors, which were neglected, may impact on the results. For instance, these patients were monitored electronically and perhaps some cables were physically connected to their bodies. They slept in new places. Consequently, the quality of their sleep may be caused by these changes. Additionally to it, these controlled room perhaps do not have some characteristics which may cause the volunteers' insomnia, for example, the rooms may have decent air conditioning or heating systems and sound isolation. Moreover, we cannot neglect the placebo effect, if these volunteers were informed about the expected results, they may feel improvement in health conditions which are caused by their strong believe in the medicine tested. The argument might have been stronger had the writer given us data about results of a control group, these data may have ruled out all these doubts. However, till we do not know them, we cannot accept the results of the study for granted.

Finally, the argument claims that the study has proved that lavender cures insomnia within a short time span. At the same time, the usage of study which is given to us has been proved unwarranted. But even if we accept the results of study, may we aver that lavender cure the insomnia in a short period of time? The study was conducted during three weeks span, but how long does the effect last? The likeliness exists that the disease will return in the nearest future. Base on the current data we may, at best, assert that scent of lavender flowers may alleviate or temporally cease the symptoms of insomnia.

In conclusion, the author's belief that the scent of lavender flower is able to cure insomnia during a short time span is not supported properly and thus seems to be unwarranted.