Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument has failed to convince us that the deer population decline is due to the coincidence between the reports and the global warming trades. The argument, as it stands, is based on questionable assumptions and a faulty line of reasoning, a fact that renders it over-simplistic and unconvincing.

First of all, the author states that due to the reports from local hunters it is concluded that the deer population is declining. At first, it may sound convincing, but when viewed holistically it is not. There may have been other factors that could play a role. The author does not mention the soundness and legitimacy of the reports. In addition, there is no detail regarding the number of hunters who could agree on such a phenomenon. What if the hunters were not citing Arctic deer, and instead were just mentioning the deer population in general? What if the hunters' report is not reliable? Furthermore, there is no indication about the date, and the time of the report. What if the hunters themselves where overhunting deer? To scrutinize, one should be able to justify a claim by providing enough evidence and information to make it cogent and convincing. If the author had elucidated more and provided enough scrutiny, the argument would have been strengthened.

Next, the author mentions the global warming trend that could have caused the deer population decline. However, the author does not provide further evidence to justify his/her claim. Chances are, that global warming trend was not affecting the islands mentioned in the argument. Furthermore, what if the global warming did not have any detrimental effect on the ice islands in Canada. Not to mention the fact that the author says that deer’s habitat is cold areas “at least some of the year”. Not only does not the author provide further scrutiny about this term and the idea that deer population may not have been susceptible to global warming, but also nebulously assumes that the deer population, contradictory to the conclusion, are living on cold icy island most of the year. Obvious enough to conclude that the author had not provided justifiable evidence and more detail to support his/her claim. As a result, if the argument had included the items discussed the coherence of the argument would have strengthened.

Last, the author bases his conclusion on two facts that coincide. To elaborate on, a big leap of faith is based on a paucity of evidence. Consequently, a flimsy cause and effect relationship is drawn. The author does not provide further information about the two coinciding issues. What if the deer population changed their migration pattern due to the fact that they have been overhunted by hunters? What if they had changed their patterns because of an increased human activity such as road-construction, building sites and so forth? If the author had included the items mentioned, the soundness of the argument would have been strengthened.

To conclude, based on questionable assumptions and poor evidence, the arguer’s reasoning does not provide concrete support for his/her conclusion. If the argument had included the items discussed, it would have been more cogent and thorough.