Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The permises provided in the memo of the advertising director(AD) of Super Screen Movies Production Company (SSMP Co.) are appealing and cogent at first glance but have considerable assumptions and lack evidences which need to be discussed.

Firstly, the memo points to the fact that there is a decrease in the number of people attending the Movies of SSMP Co. in the past year. The decrease in number is a cause of worry but the memo does not provide any other details that can help us conclude the reason of this decrease. The decrease could be because the audience had better choices in the form of good movies produced by other companies. While the number of people viewing movies may have drastically increased last year, the falling trend maybe only for SSMP Co. Movies.Moreover, the cause of decline in number cannot be ascertained unless the memo provides statistics from the past year showing the total viewership across all movies released in that year. It could very well be a general trend of decline but we cannot know.

Secondly, the AD informs that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers has certainly increased in the part year. Movie reviews by reviewers plays only a very small role in increasing viewership. A very good example is that of critically acclaimed films that are released across the world, for instance 'The Birdman', it was well received by reviewers but bombed at the Box Office. Therefore, positive movie reviews certainly cannot be a strong parameter for audience attendance. It may only quantify that the quality of the movie is good but is it good enough to attract audience is another question.

Thirdly, the AD claims that since the movie reviews are positive therefore there is a lack of awareness among public which is the reason of decline in audience attendance. This is not exactly true. In a world of well informed audience, word of mouth plays a very critical role. Many oscar winning movies have often had empty theatres since the people who go and watch them certainly inform others about their opinion. If I did not like the movie and my friends or relatives are thinking of watching the movie, I can certainly influence their decision and make them think twice or maybe even change their decision.

In conclusion, the AD of SSMP Co. should provide some solid evidences that link lack of awareness to falling attendace of movies and only then can one corroborate with the suggestion of increasing the budget of advertising.