Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

In the preceding argument, the director from the Super Screen Movie Production Company claims that the decrease in the number of people watching their movies is because of they are not aware of the existence of good movies from the company, thus more investment should be added to advertising in the next year. This may sounds appealing at first glance. However, upon careful scrutiny, it is rife with flaws and premises.

To begin with, the advertising director asserts that fewer people attended the company's movie in the last year was not because of the movies' content are not good, for there were more positive reviews on some specific movies. However, positive reveiws on several of the company's movies are not enough. It is possible that some of the excellent movies were quite popular among people, but more products performed not good, so the number of viewers as a whole dropped.

Additionally, the director doesn't compare the quality of their movies with the ones from other companies. It may be true that the Super Screen's movies are of better quality compared to its previous works, but if other rivals produced even better movies, then people will be attracted to those movies. So, a more thorough analysis on the quality and content of the company's movies is needed.

Last but not least, building upon the implications that movies produced by the Super Screen are not reaching the audiences, the director suggests increasing budget in advertising in the next year. However, increasing invesment in advertising means less money can be used to produce movies. Although more people will be attracted to watch their movies in the next year, but the quality of movies would decrease because of lack of investment, so it is unlikely that the number of viewers will be significantly higher.

Due to aforementioned evidences, although advertising may promote the popularity of movies from the Super Screen, a deeper and more detailed investigation should be carried out to make sure why there were fewer viewers the last year. Only then can the compamy come up with a efficient solution to its problem.