Argument: The United States of America should dispense with the Electoral College. At present, the President and Vice President are selected in a process that does not give equal weight to all voters. Apart from Maine and Nebraska, states select electoral

The author suggests that the United States of America(USA) should dispense Electoral College, in his argument. At first glance the argument looks cogent, but on thorough scrutiny the argument fails to provide any facts or analogy to a similar proven observation. The argument is rife with fallacies. Many questions needs to be answered before the argument is accepted.

Firstly, the author does not provide evidence to support what other system can be successful in the USA. To accept the author's analogy that Electoral College is not an effective means choosing the President and the Vice President, the author needs to furnish results and observations about other ways of choosing leaders that have proven methodologies and proof of electing right leaders. Without providing such an evidence we can only assume taking the author's argument for his word which is completely absurd.

Moreover, the author fails to provide an effective analogy between the electoral vote and popularity vote. Before deciding on the correctness of the analogy the author needs to answer numerous questions, such as: How much do the popularity votes weight in an electoral voting scheme? What kind of people a vote for the popularity vote? How do the people surveyed represent the mix of the nations huge population effectively? Without answering these questions the author is shooting darts in the dark expecting at least a few of them to hit the target.

In addition, the author when considering the two states Maine and Nebraska only present a biased sample space for his observation. He does not mention what percentage of states are considered in his observation and what percentage do these two states represent. Without providing such evidence, we cannot clearly draw any conclusion of the the states that are based upon the winner-take-all system is present in "some" states, which is just obscuring our ability to draw conclusion further.

Finally, the author fails to provide a connection between disproportionate population and weight of votes in those states. Does he intend to say more population means more weight of the vote or vice versa? This is an open ended question and can be interpreted both ways. Such an equivocal approach only weaken the author's conclusion more.

To conclude, the author's conclusion that USA do away with Electoral College because it is unfair and undemocratic are baseless. Before making such claims he needs to provide suitable evidence to bolster his view.