In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author comments to undertake the road improvement project implemented in Butler County (BC) is to be done in the Prunty County (PC). He gives the reasons of decreasing the number of accidents by the same. At first this seems like a good argument, but the reasons provided in the argument are vague and do not have the evidence for support it. Hence the validity of the argument is in question under the following reasons.

The author assumes that the road improvement project in BC to be undertaken in PC would reduce the accident percentage. This does not hold true for many reasons. His assumption of BC and PC to have all equal entities in road safety is not evidenced. BC might be a bigger county with less drivers whereas PC, a busier county and more drivers. The BC roads were small width roads and less visibility lanes and an improvement there improved the deficiencies. PC might already have wide and more visibililty lanes. The issue must be the drivers in PC. Since we do not know the differences, it might be difficult to say the same road improvement would be helpful in PC.

In the argument, the author indicates that it was only due to the improvements that were made in the roads in BC that the accidents decreased. He fails to mention and look for other reasons. For example, The drivers in BC might have to undergo safety driving class, or they are more responsible, or there might more highay patrols in BC to check for reckless driving. Not looking into other factors that might help in contributing to the road improvement makes the argument less plausible.

Lastly, the author mentions, after the project being implemented, there was a reduction of 25% of accidents in the last year than in the past five years. When this data looks legitimate at first, he fails to give further supporting evidence to that. There is no mention of the accident data for the previous consecutive years or no data to show how the accident rates are calculated in BC. It could be possible there was an increase or the accident percentage was same for the years after the project. The drivers might not have got used to the new changes and was careless. Maybe in PC, even a scratch between cars might be counted as accidents, whereas in BC they go unreported. Without all the facts, the argument seems illogical.

Eventhough the author, has the best interest at heart and wants to ensure safety of PC, the reasons he gave in this argument for the implementation of the road improvement project seems not valid. Hence before the PC council takes major decisions on the project, I urge them to reconsider the actual reasons for the BC accident improvement percentage.