On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument recommends that to decrease the quantity of the moped accidents on the Balmer Island, the number of the rental moped must be halved. This argument reveals examples of leap of faiths and fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Hence, the argument is unconvincing.

First of all, the author assumes that as the population enhances to 100,000 during the summer months, the identical condition will be repeated by this summer. However, this assumption is based on the vague and holistic statistic. Maybe for this summer, there will not increase for the sake of some inclement weather condition, or the expensive cost of this island. In this case, by the decline of the population of tourists to the island, the number of moped usages will decrease too. As a result, if there are no sufficient amounts of the moped for the transportation, the island will lose its current customers too. The argument could have been much fortified if it explicitly stated the census of the next summer population that it would increase to 100,000 as the previous seasons.

Secondly, the writer posits that the primary blame for the accident is the moped. As there is no cogent evidence to advocate this presumption, this claim is skeptical. Perhaps the significant factor of these accidents is the inaccurate traffic rules. Or maybe there is no any well-defined walk side for the pedestrians inasmuch as they do not pass through their own path, it leads to the accident and by the decrement of the mopeds, there will be no alteration in the number of the accidents. Either scenario would provide an alternative explanation for this incident far apart the moped. Therefore, the argument could have been more solidified if it had provided clues that the main reason for the accidents is mopeds.

Finally, the author surmises that the Balmer Island and Seaville's town are similar in entire aspects, and what is useful in the Seaville's town will present the same function in the Balmer Island. Also, since by the declining of the moped usage to half, there are fewer accidents in the Seaville's town, the decrement in the Blamer Island will demonstrate the unique outcome. Nevertheless, since these two places are not similar in any angle, there is no guarantee that the result will be same. For instance, the Balmer is an island, and it has less traffic rather than the Seaville's town. In this case, even the main cause of the accident is the moped; there should be another option to address this problem beyond the elimination of some mopeds.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the reasons above- mentioned and is, therefore, unpersuasive. It could be considerably strengthened if the writer clearly said that there would be an increase in the population on summer, as usual, the real reason of the accident is the moped, and the Seaville's town and Balmer Island are identical. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debates.