"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

In this letter the town council is asked to limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. To support this recommendation the writer points out that that similar reduction in number of mopeds being rented led to a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents last year. This argument rests on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly, the writer omits the consideration that it is not necessary if the neighboring island of seaville has achieved reduction in accidents by implementing the above said restrictions, the balmer island also obtain the same result. The roads of the seaville island may be narrow that cannot accomodate large number of mopeds. It can also happen that the population of the balmer island is higher and reduction in number of mopeds may lead to problem in functioning of routine system.

Secondly, the author doesn't addresses the issue that every time it is not necessary that the reason behind the accidents is moped only, it may also happen that the pedestrians may encroach into the road space and this may cause accidents. This can happen, may be due to the large amount of people walking besides the road.

Thirdly, The argument assumes that all the accidents are done by the hired mopeds. what if they are done by the private owned vehicles, the restriction will has no logic then. If they reduce the number of hired moped it will lead to an increase of car users which will affect the traffic and may cause more pollution also.

In conclusion, to persuade me that the council should adopt those restrictions the author should get proper evidences in support of it. The author should also provide proper data regarding the accidents in balmer island.