On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

The letter to Balmer Island Gazetta states the increase of population in the island is leading to several accidents involving mopeds. Thus, making a conclusion that the mopeds rented by the island companies should be cut short, which would result in decrease in accidents as a similar method has achieved success in Seavilla. However, the assumption and the evidence stated is not cogent and is considered to be a flawed one because of the following reasons.

Firstly, the reduction in the accidents in the Seaville might be because of many factors. The population of Seavilla might not be the same as Balmer island. The increase and decrease in the population would affect the percentage mentioned. The statement is not backed by any values or statistics to prove this point to be true. May be the people who visited Seaville were fewer resulting in fewer accidents. Secondly, the number of pedestrians would have also been less than those of the Balmer Island. May be the people of Seaville used other means of transport. There are many questions which are not answered and the assumptions are lacking evidence.

Additionally, the statement doesn’t mention the geography of Seaville or Balmer Island. If the area of Seaville was comparatively larger than Balmer, which means people are widely spreading and less prone to accidents. Another factor is the tourist attractions is Seaville might be less than compared to Balmer resulting is less tourist. If this is true then fewer people will be on the island which might have also contributed to less number of accidents.

It is stated that the decrease in the rentals of mopeds from 50 per day to 25 will reduce the number of accidents. While, this assumption is not compelling and has not strong evidence of success. If the people who drive the mopeds are not skilled drivers then, this might not reduce the number of accidents even after reducing the moped use. In addition, the percentage decrease in accidents in Seaville was annual. It can also be said that the accidents haven’t reduced but, the population has reduced after the summer which means that the method wasn’t successful.

To sum, the authors assumption is not cogent and has not taken many factors in to consideration which would affect the results. The geographical differences were not mentioned and the statements lack evidence and are not strong enough to prove this method would be successful. The proposal needs to be studied further consider all the factors involved.