On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

I would like to contend that there are many flaws in the assertion stated by the author, which are, Is there any report or statistics shown that the number of accidents are increased by mopeds? It is stated that the accidents involves also include pedestrians, so it could be possible that the accidents are also caused by pedestrians or any group of unsound people? The native poeple of Balmer island who own mopeds' can aslo be responsible for the accidents? The reducing the rental companies for moped doesnt state that would decrease the rate of accidents just because the same thing has been performed by some other neighbouring island of Seaville. Does that neighbouring island has the same amount of population? or do they have same number of mopeds in their coast as per that of Balmer Island?

First of all, there is no proof that because increased population there are rise in accidents. The native people who owns the mopeds and the pedestrian of their own inhabitant of Balmer island could be the victim of the rash driving of their own people. So it could be possible that there is no indulgence of any foreign person for these accidents. It could be possible that the accidents involving the mopeds and pedestrians are because the island lack in some basic traffic rules due to which these accidents are occuring, and as the population increases in summer, it becomes conjusted, as a reason accidents would be increasing.

Secondly, On what grounds the town counsil of Balmer island asserted that reducing the number of rental per day would decrease the amount of accidents. The town counsil is presuming this because of the neigbouring island has implemented this strategy and they got what they wanted. But is it stated that both the islands has the same population? With the same number of mopeds? All other factors like proper traffic guidance and all? It has not proven that the factors that affected or the reason that made the neighbouring island of Seaville, reducing the rental for the same reason.

Thirdly, By imposing the reduced rentals of mopeds by that the neighbouring island imposed then is there any guarantee that the number of accidents would be substansially be reduced? The town counsil states that the accidents would be reduced by 50% as this is achieved by other island. We cannot assert others idea of enforcement into ours without comparing exclusively the conditons of both the sides. We dont know how many accidents happened in that neighbouring island? nor we know that the number of mopeds rented or the total number of moped accountatively of both rentals and the native people.

Therefore, it doesn't signify proper data or comaprison to the other island, so that we have so credibility that imposing this law would benefit our current situation. We should have proper knowledge of the incidents happening and also the extent to which it should be mitigated. Not like assuming the results that are achieved by the neighbouring island, that the accidents would be reduced by 50% if we reduce the rental of moped by half. There is no link between the two islands that the state counsil is willing to enforce without sufficient details.