The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author purports that survey results and food sales data indicate citizens have adopted a more healthful lifestyle. While this is certainly promising evidence that residents have made healthy choices, it is a stretch to say that this evidence alone indicates an overall healthy lifestyle.

The author assumes that the survey is reliable and valid. However, the author doesn’t state the conditions for the survey.

A survey sample representative of the Forsyth population would present reliable data, as long as the questions were comprehensive enough to give a clear, unbiased picture of eating habits. Unfortunately, we don’t know enough about the survey to confidently apply its results to the population as a whole. If the survey was given to customers of a health food store, we would get quite a different picture than if the survey was given at a more traditional grocery store, or a random sample of residents through phone, e-mail, or regular mail.

In conjunction with this, the same concept applies to the data on food sales. Where was the data complied regarding sales of kiran and sulia? Again, data from a natural foods store would vary greatly from data at a more traditional store. Furthermore, grocery stores are not the residents’ only opportunity to purchase food. Restaurants and convenience stores are also available. Is the same increase in kiran purchases and decrease in sulia purchases seen in restaurant purchases? Maybe the residents really don’t eat out enough for this to impact the data, but the argument could be strengthened if we knew how all sources of food played into it.

Building on that, regarding food purchases, the author assumes that if residents are purchasing more healthy food, and less unhealthy food, they are getting healthier. Additional information about actual cholesterol levels would buttress support for this argument by demonstrating a connection between food purchases and healthy cholesterol. But even then, cholesterol is only a small aspect of a person’s health. The author seems fixated on a very narrow aspect of health—cholesterol and government nutritional guidelines. To definitively say that residents are leading healthier lifestyles, he should also delve into data about exercise habits. He is using limited data to draw his conclusion, and he could make a stronger case if he would look at a broader range of ideas to support his assertion about the residents’ healthy lifestyles.

An interesting assumption he makes is that reduced sales of sulia indicate healthier lifestyles. He bases this idea on the premise that because healthy people don’t purchase sulia, it must be unhealthy. This is a quite a feat of logical gymnastics. There are many reasons that healthy people would purchase some foods only rarely. Lobster isn’t known to be unhealthy, but no one is going to cook lobster 3 times a week due to the expense and hassle. Other specialty foods are only purchased occasionally—sushi, crab legs, etc. Some food that is healthy is disliked by the population as a whole, even healthy folks. Take brussel sprouts, for example. They have a reputation for being icky, so this is probably not a newbie health nut’s first choice when they hit the grocery store. However, they have many of the same health benefits as broccoli and other tasty vegetables. It could also be that sulia is in short supply and has become expensive. There are many reasons that healthy people might not be purchasing it, and their buying habits are not necessarily an indicator of the health of the population as a whole.

Finally, the author assumes that because residents purchasing patterns are more in line with government nutritional guidelines, than they were 10 years ago they must be healthier. Sounds good…but how accurate were the guidelines 10 years ago? Scientists learn more every year about what is healthy for our bodies, and government nutritional guidelines are updated periodically. First is was the four food groups, then the food pyramid, and now we see a plate divided into four sections. Maybe the residents were eating healthy four years ago, and government guidelines are finally just catching up.

In summary, the author takes little bits of promising data and makes sweeping generalizations. The author should either adjust his conclusions to focus on eating habits, or seek additional information regarding activity level to determine if lifestyle choices as a whole have improved.