The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights

in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made

gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn

brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the

future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the

efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the

answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

Town X's counsel have decided to cut-down electrical spending by replacing all the bulb used in public infrastructure with LED, which cost no more as they said and burn brighter. This argument has some logical flaws which must be taken in account in order to consider this statement as conceded.

To commence with, the major logical fallacy is in the first statement that in order to decrease electrical expense that will be done by changing lights of public building, however, there is no justification of the proportion of electricity consumed by this sector -especially by bulb. To clarify it better we can say that it is feasible that amount used by this part is very negligible, whereas, there might be something major which consume energy profligately. For instance, bad habit of not switching off AC or fan after using it, could be one reason why it required more light. This argument has been had strengthen if the authentic survey of electricity usage by various sector was given.

Adding up to first fallacy, even if this considered valid that bulbs are taking unnecessary energy, it cannot be said that only public buildings are responsible for this cause, this effect is misleaded. There might be other reason for such context. Other sectors, such as residential, industrial and most significantly commercial, where there could be a possibility that for showrooms turn lights on for decoration purpose or advertisement at night. Again, this argument could be more valid if there were any proof of public building using more portion given.

Finally, they have assumed that even after doing is improvement they will be able to reduce consumption of electricity and save money, that again is a unwarranted hypothesize. Use of electricity grows by time to time, nowadays there are even cars and bike are available that runs on electrical energy, as demonstration. Therefore, it can be easily said that need of future energy cannot be considered without any deliberated studies, and that could valid the argument strongly.