"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic." Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Author has made an argument that instead of adding an additional lane, adding a bicycle lane will reduce the traffic on Blue Highway during rush-hour. However, some questions that are needed to be answered by an author in order to justify the argument.

First of all, author has not mentioned that on what basis he has stated that the traffic during rush-hour has doubled the commuting time. How many complaints have registered about the increase of traffic in rush-hour which caused the doubling of commuting time, Are there different commuters present or only the same two-four commuters are registering the complaints again and again, what is the specific duration of rush-hour also Is there any another possibility of doubling the commuting time, all these questions make his statement unreasonable.

Furthermore, he has explained how adding an additional lane of traffic will not resolve a problem by giving an example of Green Highway. But, there is a possibility that the conditions in Blue Highway are different from the Green Highway and adding an additional lane might resolve the problem. Hence, author has not discussed the similarity in causes of traffic for both the Highways.

In addition to that, he has suggested the solution of reducing the traffic is adding a bicycle lane. To support his solution he claimed that many area residents are keen bicyclists and hence bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute. This claim has some weak areas which apparently makes the argument weak. It is mentioned in the argument that Blue Highway joins the suburbs and the city center. Thus, author should have answered the questions like, do bicyclists have the residents in the area which is covered by the Blue Highway, what is the actual ratio of bicyclists to the overall population, what is the overall distance covered by Blue Highway, is it possible to cover that amount of distance by average bicyclist using ordinary bicycle, do roads linking the Blue Highway have bicycle lane, is it feasible for a bicyclist to travel on daily basis and does the condition of the road suitable to travel by bicycle.

In general, it can be concluded that the author has not provided any answers of all above mentioned questions which would help to decide whether the solution recommended by the author is feasible or not. Mentioned questions judge the argument in all the possible aspects and lack of providing answers makes the solution unreasonable.