Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from

Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new,

Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to

boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to

explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if

the assumptions prove unwarranted

The company argues that a four day work week reduces commuting time and keeps the office closed on the friday, which will translate to increased profits and boosted morale the argument is with holes and unwarranted assumptions which make it highly flawed.

The company agrees that the policy is new. So it will be very difficult to find any evidence which bolsters the argument that the shutting down of offices on fridays will increase profits. It can be clearly seen that the total hours the office will be working is not going to change. The expenses, of keeping the workplace open for a week, therefore will not decrease even for the slightest amount and there are fair chances that it will actually increase. The expense for lighting can increase if the office is to be kept to late nights or early mornings than the day time. The assumption that the expense will decrease is highly flawed and unrealistic.

Additionally the argument that the commuting time will decrease is an assumption which need evidence to be validated. Even though it will require the employees to commute only four days a week, commuting at the unusual times, early or late, of the day can make it difficult if they are relying on the public transport. For this assumption to be validated the commuting data of the employees are necessary (who all commutes in private vehicles and who all depends on public transport) and should be seen whether plausible with the timetable of existing facilities.

Along with that it is assumed that the reduction in commuting time alone will boost the morale of the employees. The proposed plan robs them daily of the time they could have spent with their children and family. This could make them unavailable to the family four days a week and in fact can adversely affect the morale of the employees. To have this assumption back the argument a survey should be taken among the employees to enquire whether the proposed plan is really welcomed by them.

Along with that a protracted working day can result in a state of lethargy which in turn make them less efficient. It had been an established policy to devote one third of the day to work, rest and other activities each. Without a serious research backed by clear evidence it cannot be assumed that the profit will increase regardless of the apparent effects of a lengthy work day.

In short it can be clearly seen that the argument is rife with spurious assumptions which renders it less convincing and all the more skeptical.