Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from

Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new,

Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to

boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to

explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if

the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The company argues that implementing 4 days a week scheme, compulsory for all employees, would benefit in terms of profit gain, as office will be closed on Friday, as well as morale enhancement by cutting down traveling time. However, argument claims this based on assumption, which has some logical fallacies that must be examine before jumping over any conclusion.

To commence with, company argues, " employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday." The statement has no background details, such as, whether it would be beneficial for employees or not? Would it increase work load or work stress, reducing per person productivity? As staff is the most essential assets for organization, it could harm overall profit. To example, if Goggle force its workforce to do the same it would surely deteriorate its work, therefore, it gives their employees full liberty to work whenever they want and wherever they want.

Secondly, statement claims that the net income will rise by such policy, nevertheless, there is no mentioned of the how company would have benefited by this, as office would shut down for Friday but salary of employees must have paid for that time, also if the land or building is on rent, then the expense would not be less even after making Friday holiday. To make this argument concrete, more analysis is needed for the expense of the corporation.

Finally, decreasing commuting time to and from work each week would light-up the moral of workforce, as stated in the last sentence of the argument. Is the location of office being far away? How much time is required every day for travel? Is it not reliable for people working with company? Answers of these questions are ambiguous, that undermine the argument and assumed advantages of policy. Such surveys much be necessary for any evaluation.

To recapitulate, numerous invalid argument is existed in statement, which does not avail the gain profit. Henceforth, more data required for detailed assessment of claim.