Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the arguments if the assumptions are unwarranted.

The above argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument does not states what kind of profit it will experience. Does the new policy could boost the employee morale is assumed along with the increase in profit, invalid.

The argument states that the profit will increase but what kind of profit is not mentioned in the argument, does the sales of the product will increase or anything else. Maybe the profit does not have to relate with shutting down offices on Friday, it could be there is no connection between profits and Friday. What if the employees not work with same amount of energy in the extra time than it normally does. If the argument could have mentioned what type of profit does it make then the argument could have been stated as valid.

The argument contain another flaw, which sates that by shutting offices on Friday it will boost employee morale. What kind of morale will it boost is not mentioned, does it include working with more great energy on Monday of next week or it will boost living morale. If the argument could have mention what kind of morale it will boost, it would have been stated as valid.

The arguments finally contain another flaw, the profit it made from the older policy is not mentioned. Maybe the profit will increase in number, suppose for older policy 99 out of 100 products were sold and in new policy 100 out of 200 products were sold, here new policy has greater number but the older policy has greater percentage meaning the older policy was successful. If the argument would have mentioned the exact mathematics then it would have been a valid argument.

Thus the above arguments were not valid for the staed or unstated assumptions.