The computerized on-board warning system that will be installed in commercial airliners

will virtually solve the problem of midair plane collisions. One plane’s warning system can

receive signals from another’s transponder—a radio set that signals a plane’s course—in order

to determine the likelihood of a collision and recommend evasive action.

The argument is stating that the computerized on-board warning system will virtually solve the problem of midair plane collision. It further states that plane's warning system can receive signals from another plane's transponder and in the likelihood of a collision the system can recommend evasive actions and the pilot will implement these evasive actions to prevent the collision. The conclusion of the author assumes that warning system will work without any error and there will be enough time to take evasive actions once the system recommends them and pilot will diligently follow the evasive actions.

First of all, computerized on-board systems can't be fully trusted. There is always room for an error as commercial airlines fly at high speed and in the atmosphere where outside pressure is very high. Because of the environmental condition, there can be malfunction and warning system might give false warning and evasive actions even when there is no likelihood of collision. In this case, pilot may take evasive action which might eventually lead to accident or pilot will become distrustful of the system and may eventually shut down the system, leading to more cases of failure of on-board systems as system won't be now present in all the commercial airliners.

Also, author is assuming that on-board system will be present and working in all the commercial airliners, which might not be the case. There are variety of commercial airliners present all around the globe and it is impossible to install this system at one go in all the airliners. There might be the case that some airliners are installed with this system and other are not, in that case there won't be proper receiving and transmitting of signals between two planes and hence an improper system which might increase probability of mid-air collisions instead of decreasing it as pilot may take false evasive actions because of faulty system.

Also, author is assuming that there will be enough time to take evasive actions once they are suggested. It might be the

case that system is only able to detect likelihood of collision once planes are very close to each other and once evasive actions are suggested, pilot won't have much time to avoid the collision. So author should also take into consideration the amount of time that is available to the pilot to take evasive actions and also are pilots trained enough to take evasive actions in the given time.

Also, there might be the case that pilots are not able to take evasive actions even having ample time. There is always room for human-error as the pilot might get nervous and take some wrong action leading to the mid-air collision. So, it cannot be concluded that this system will virtually solve the problem of midair-collision.

Hence, author has not provided enough evidence to substantiate the claim and the author leaves out several key issues making the claim dubious. Author should also consider the amount of time available to take evasive actions, whether pilots can take evasive actions in the given time, and also how much reliable the system is to make the claim more sound and persuasive.