The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the argument purportedly asserts that Maple County has improved and council come up with an idea that farmland should be restricted but this idea will increase significantly the price of houses. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First, the author contends that such limitation will terminate in high price of houses in Maple County. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, a question that might arise is whether restriction of available farmland in county will decrease price of houses. One point that should be considered is that the author do not show any information about economic situation in county. Indeed, there is possibility that economic recession provide fertile ground for increasing the price of houses or perhaps other factor such as industrial purposes have influenced the price of lands. It is also important to say that the author do not show to the extent farmlands in County impact houses' price. In fact, maybe limitation of farmland do not increase the price of houses in residential area.

The author also attributes that chestnut county ten years ago enact such restriction and the price of houses increase gradually. Although it might seem tenable at face, it has some detects since you can always ask this question if chestnut county was overdeveloped same as Maple and also was in identical situation. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that maybe the demand for houses in chestnut were lower than in Maple ten years ago or perhaps Chestnut council had limited not only farmland but also everything related to the increasing of houses' price. Alongside that, there is possibility that Chestnut County benefited from best economic situation rather than Maple County.

Finally, as set forth by the author Fifteen years ago Pine County has restricted the residential houses and the price had increased notably. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if restriction of residential houses could prevent a County from overdeveloping. One point that should not go unnoticed is that perhaps Pine County had experienced economic recession in that era and after Fifteen years the price of houses decrease significantly overtime. Moreover, Maple County want to stop development by limit the farmland, which differ completely from residential area in Pine County.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.