The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Argument is presented that Maple County is becoming overdeveloped and is debating a proposed measure to prevent the development of farmland. County is reaching to this decision by making comparison with other two counties who practiced same measure few years back. Proponents make comparison with Chestnut county which experienced housing price increase modestly in ten years. Opponents presenting comparison with Pine County where housing prices are more than doubled in last fifteen year. Reason presented to support argument is not very cogent and is rife with many assumptions which can weaken the argument if proves false.

First assumption is economy of three counties is same. Mostly not all the counties are same, some are developed and have more career opportunities and other less. In the argument there is no information provided about measure on which Maple county is compared with Chestnut and Pine counties. Only one reason is being used that they practiced preventing development of existing farmland ten or fifteen years ago. It is possible that in Pine county more new businesses opened since last fifteen years and people from other parts of country moved there and which caused doubling the housing price and Chestnut county doesn't provide much career opportunities and population of this county is not changing much from last ten years which is causing modest increase in housing price.

Second perception is that measure which was relevant fifteen years back is relevant now. Chestnut county established same measure ten year back and from last ten years experienced housing price increase modestly and Pine county used similar practice fifteen years ago and housing prices are more than double since. This data is too old to compare with current situation in Maple county. Even if all three counties are similar, still it may be not true whatever was the situation ten years back is also true now. May be in Pine county people were struggling for housing fifteen years back and they stopped development which worsen the situation and doubled housing price, on the other hand, ten years back in chestnut county people were not facing housing problem and county felt to stop development, which didn't effect much the housing price. No information provided in the argument about housing situation in Maple county and how county council is considering that county is overdeveloped?

In conclusion, no current statistics presented in the argument and the measure of overdevelopment of county, which pose restriction on reaching the conclusion of argument that prices will definitely be increased after preventing development. Thus, author need to gather more data and conduct analysis about Maple county and other comparing counties before reaching to the conclusion.