The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The Author of the argument predicts that the housing prices of the maple county will significantly increase if the proposed measure is taken .The author supports his prediction by giving two examples of the pine county and chestnut county. Although these examples supports the author ‘s prediction , It neglects several possibilities that could make the author’s proposal a liability for the council of the county.

To begin with author cites the example of the two county .He makes the broader generalization based on the narrow examples .he states that the pine county adopted the restrictions on the development of the new residential housing and the prices increased .It is more likely that the things applicable for the pine county are not applicable for the maple county .Also, the author does not give any information about the geographical location of the two county .Are these two county serve in the same geographical location .It is also possible that the pine county is located in the area which is central in the city .This may have increased the prices in the housing in Pine county. As mentioned by the proponents the chestnut county has not seen the surge in prices. Thus the author needs an answer for the above question in order to justifiably conclude

Also the author mention that the Pine county has surge in the prices over the period of 15 years .The 15 year period is much longer and the increase in the housing prices in these years is not that significant. It is quite possible that As the city has developed .There was increase in the population of the city .which has caused the housing prices to rise. Author needs an additional evidences to answer that Does the restriction is only factor contributing to the higher prices.

Thus the author glosses over several question such as the geographical location of the county ,The development of the county,Population of the county etc.the author needs an additional evidence to answer all the question in order to justifiably conclude .It these factors are not considered there may be loss for the council of the mapel county