The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument above presents the concerns that the council of Maple County have regarding a proposal measure to prevent building new developments in order to protect the existing of farmland in the county. The council’s concern is that by precluding new developments, the town is exposed to a dangerous inflation in house pricing in Maple County. The writer compares Chestnut and Pine Counties to show that both counties had similar situations and in both cases the prices of houses increased. Although Chestnut County’s housing prices increased slowly and modestly, in Pine County the prices doubled in fifteen years. To an un-scrutinizing eye, these assumptions make a lot of sense, however, in order to decide whether the proposal is valid, a closer evaluation is needed. The proposal should explain more in detail the effect it might have on the farmland. It should focus on the purpose of the farmland in the county and the contribution they make to the area. It should also examine the demographic of the farmland and the intention of the younger generation to stay or leave the county. Moreover, there should be information comparing the three counties: Maple, Chestnut and Pine in size, socio-economic status, topography and more.

The council of Maple County debates whether they should build and develop the area or protect the existence of the farmlands in the area. It is important to reevaluate the purpose of keeping so much land. By doing economic research, the county should examine the purpose of the farmland in the county. If the county uses this area to grow different kinds of crops which provide food, jobs and tourism, it might be well justified to protect it. However, if most land is abundant or has no use to it, the county should reevaluate the different opportunities it might have to support its citizens.

Also, different times bring different trends and interests. There should be a survey among the people who live in Maple County. The survey’s purpose should focus on the future desire of the younger generation to stay in the area. If the county loses its younger generation, the consideration should not include the over developing of new houses. However, if there the trend is that in the past few years more young people came to the area to settle, this might reflect on the future to come. More families demand more housing. Preventing the county from creating new developments will extol the opportunities the county has to grow and modernize.

By giving the past examples of Chestnut and Pine counties, the writer adheres the fear of inflation, however, such comparison should not be made without investigating the reasons for such increases in the price of the housing. This requires more information on the national housing trend. It might be that house prices increased nationally and had nothing to do with the restrictions on new developments. If this is the case, comparing those three counties make no sense at all, and it is like comparing apples and oranges. Also, the writer did not mention anything about the Chestnut and Pine counties’ reasons for restricting the developments. One assumption can be made that the restriction was made due to a high ratio of houses to people which brought the increase of prices later as the size of the population grew. This requires long term planning rather than basing the council’s decision on fifteen years ago.

To conclude this matter, it is important to consider the information given by the council of Maple County, however, more study needs to be done. It is important to consider economic changes, the local demographic, modern trends, and past case studies and future speculations on the consumer market. Life is dynamic and people’s desires change according to trends, housing needs, and their economic situations. Therefore, if research and surveys indicate that currently farmland has no significant contribution to the county’s population and that the younger generation shows the desire to stay in the area, contrary to the proposal, investing in new developments might do well for the county in the long run.