The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of argument claims that the housing prices of Maple County will increase significantly if the proposed measure that is preventing the development of farmland is implemented. While this may seem logical at first glance, it rests upon some unwarranted assumptions that need further analysis.

First, the increase in prices of housing depends on various factors that include the availability of the farmland. For example, if the demand for new houses in Maple County is decreases due to various reasons then restrictions may not necessarily lead to increase in prices. If the people are not willing to buy because of lack of necessity, financial problems etc.. Then this claim may not hold true.

Secondly, the advocates of this measure extrapolate it by comparing it with a similar measure which was implemented in a different country that is chestnut which was ten years ago. This is a very vague basis. For example, the price of the land may vary significantly from one area to another. Chestnut county would have not had high demand or may not have been economically developed thus the price of the land may not have been increased. In contrast, Maple County may have a large population and may be economically rich which makes it highly susceptible for spike in the housing rates.

Another major point is the time difference. The financial background of people ten years back may not be same as now. The willingness of people to buy houses may have changed. Prices of land could have been appreciated or depreciated. We simply do not know thus these points can significantly weaken the argument.

The argument of the opposition giving example of Pine County can be similarly attacked. Pine County maybe located in a geographically in a different area which may not have any similarity with maple county. They might differ in population, financial status, the necessity of people to buy the house. For example in pine county the demands must have been high, thus prices must have increased according to law of supply and demand. This may not hold true for Maple County. Also, the restriction was adopted fifteen years ago, and people's needs, land prices may change altogether.

The individual price of the houses also plays an important role. For example, the prices of pine county may be ten thousand dollars and it may have increased to 21000 dollars but Maple county may start off with 100000 dollars and if restrictions cause a similar increase in dollar amount it will account for only 20%. Thus comparison is not really feasible.

While the author's argument is entirely not invalid, if aforementioned points were considered, it would have helped him/her to strengthen the claims which would have made the argument more likely to be valid.