The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

All areas reach a point of saturation beyond which point new housing cannot be constructed. For some time house prices may increase but they generally plateau. After all, infinitely any place cannot be expanded. The author assumes that limiting supply of new housing could lead to a “significant” increase in prices . Thus if the law is passed , an increase in price is expected but the “significant “ increase is a vague prediction at best.

The author talks about preventing the conversion of existing farmland . The county thus may have already encroached some farm land for housing purposes . Is major housing coming up near the suburbs ? Being far away from city centre , the price of these areas may not increase significantly.Concept of rural Pricing vs urban or prime location pricing should be considered. The author should highlight the major economic centres nearby and the size of the developed housing , before making vague predictions.

The author gives example of Pine county where the prices have increased and Chestnut county where the prices have decreased. The author has in no way explained which of the two is similar to Maple county. Different areas have different topography , demand for space , primary land usability.

Thus when we cite a county as a reference to predict the future of Maple County, it should be properly justified .

10 years ago Chestnut county imposed similar restrictions and its housing prices have risen modestly. We should look deeper into similarities between Chestnut and Maple county in terms of land usage , population , major economic activity etc. We should note increase in property prices is related to inflation ,demands and several other factors. Property purchase can also be considered as an investment in fixed assets. Thus it is natural for property prices to rise. It also depends on growth and development of the county. It is possible that in the last 15 years Pine county has seen significant growth in terms of infrastructure and development of nearby industrial belt , thus luring more residents and increasing property prices. Is the situation with Maple county similar ? Is Maple county near any new developmental projects? We need to properly assess the economic factors and properly justify the prediction with facts.

Though , Property costs generally increase with time and add to personal finances as a valuable asset , the author should come up with cogent arguments to back his prediction.