The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that if city council enact new rules considering existing farmland, the housing price will increase significantly in Maple country. However the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First, the author contends that council of Maple country are concerned about becoming overdeveloped and proposed measure that would prevent development of farmland. But this restriction could lead to the increase in housing price. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether limit the improvement of farmland could be resulted in progress of country and suitable price for houses. One point that should be considered is that there are myriads of factors that could lead to the overdeveloped of a country such as economic recession or sanctions imposed by other countries. In fact, if authorities restrict the farmland, people will not be able to lead a healthy lifestyle owing to the fact that farmlands play a significant role in producing fresh crops. It is also important to say that different kinds of factors can change the price of the houses such as inflation.

The author also assumes that Chestnut country established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing price have increased modestly. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some detects since you can always ask this question if in what extent legislated measure ten years ago have same outcome. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that perhaps Chestnut country did not provide with farmland and they met their needs by importing goods from other country. Or maybe they restrict not just improvement of farmland. Indeed, the author does not represent any information that in what ways they enact those rules. Alongside that, there are various aspects that could lead to the increase of housing price such as geographic areas or even the location of houses.

Finally, as set forth by the author Pine country adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, which price of the houses have doubled. Nevertheless, the rationale behind the premise could be challenged owing to an unsettle question if limit the improvement of new residential areas could terminate into high price of houses or not. One point that should not go unnoticed is that there is no guarantee that such limitation act properly in Maple country due to the fact that council of Maple country focus on the restriction of farmland. Moreover, the author does not show any statistic or data about increase of housing price in fifteen years. There is possibility that the price of houses became doubled just in the first year or experienced a fluctuation during fifteen years.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions, having been ignored by the author, while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premises.