The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument show comparison between two different schools (district of Sanlee and district of Marlee), in terms of math and science grade and determines that giving an assignment twice a week is better than daily homework because of grade result in district of Sanlee that is required daily homework. The argument seems cohesive at first glance, but there is deficit of evidence that affect argument negatively.

To begin with, district of Sanlee assigning homework daily and district of Marlee assigning homework no more than two or three days per week have no evidence how to deal with homework after giving homework. Probably, district of Sanlee teacher have not checked the homework that students did. There were students who didn’t do homework at all because of the amount of homework. On the other hand, district of Marlee teacher maybe review the homework after giving a term of solving homework. If there are no specific evidences that how teacher deals with homework after giving them, then it impairs the argument.

Furthermore, there is no evidence that how students deal with homework. These two districts showed the specific data for the frequency of giving homework, but if students unlikely solve the homework, then it is by no means influential to students. For example, if students who live in Sanlee district do not interested in homework, and don’t do homework, then it would be same to not having a homework. On the other hand, if Marlee district students are interested in homework more and solve the homework even though homework frequency is low, it will be more beneficial than Sanlee district students.

Additionally, there are no specific evidence that student’s interest. Maybe Marlee district students are interested in math and science, but Sanlee district students are not interested, then the efficiency is totally different from each other. Eventually, conclusion showed that students who are required to repeat a year of school will increase. There should be specific evidence that what interests are in each student have.

Conclusively, when all of the evidence from the above support the argument, this argument will logically sound.