Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Every institution regardless commercial or not has its aims and goals. For educational institution the scope of the concern is limited to the quality of education. And this criterion stems from the essence of the educational institutions.

I disagree with the statement, mentioned in the paragraph, on the following points. Firstly, I think that every student is an individual with his unique personality. From this prospective, it is everyone’s natural responsibility to choose the future career or academic path. Whatever the ability of the student, his/her interests can differ from the ones the university would “force” them to choose. And from this point of view the intervention of the university is not justified.

Secondly, I think it is not the way of succeeding that appeals to the student. It is a question of motivation. It is a driving force which makes a non successful person to a successful one. And by not knowing the interests, the abilities and goals of a particular student, it is not as easy to prevent pursuing the field that best matches the intensions of the student as it seems. The interested person will always seek the opportunity to take the field that best matches him.

Finally I would like to mention that the potential of a person is not always fully developed in a particular settings of circumstances. If the environment is not an aspiring one, the potential of a student will be submerged. Revealing and assessing it is not a simple issue, and thus in many cases it can be underestimated.

To conclude, I would like to say that the intervention of the university into the decision of future field study of a particular student is not only unjust, but it carries the risk of underestimation of the students potential. This, itself, can lead to a wrong decision which will be reflected in the future career or academic experience.