Essay topics: The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author concludes that in order to attract more viewers to their program and avoid losing their advertising revenues, the television station must restore the time which was earlier given to weather and local news. There are certain flaws in the argument stated above. I shall suggest ways to improve and strenghten the argument so that it holds more validity.

Firstly, the author has mentioned that weather and local news is not being delivered in the late night news program from many years. also it is mentioned that local business advertising conpanies have just cancelled their contracts. This may be due to some other reason as from past a year the advertising contracts were retained by the television station inspite of the fact that local news were restrained. There might be some problem on the behavioural grounds of dealers as well.

Alternatively, author has not mentioned the number of viewers in late night program. It might be possible that late night news program have less viewers and advertisers want their advertisements to be viewed by maximum number of audience and thus they have shifted their time slot. To the contrary, their might be some issues related to increased cost of advertisements in the late night program, which may be due to more number of viewers in the night program.

Furthermore, it has not been mentioned that restrainment of local and weather news in the late night program has lead to a decrease in viewers of that program. Undoubtedly, the complaints have been addressed by the business manager but has it lead to diminished popularity of that program or the viewers are declining. It may be possible that after the increase in timing of national news timings a year ago, the number of audience has already increased or it may also be possible that the change which the manager took a year ago was on viewers request to do so.

Thus, the argument can be strengthened if the number of audience a year ago and now is being mentioned or compared in some extent. Also, there are no evidences given which proves that the cancellation of advertising contracts are because of local news and weather report not being restored back on their time slot. There might be some other reasons though. Even after restoring the time devoted to weather and local news, it might be possible that the number of viewers do not increase and still the advertising revenues decline. The author should hold evidences to prove the validity of his argument.