Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author makes an argument in favor of adopting academic honor codes as they are more successful than other methods at deterring cheating among students. He supports it with evidence of favourable outcomes when adopting such an approach in Groveton college, and a recent survey among its students. However, the premises leave scope for a number of alternative explanations for the improvement in Groveton College.

Firstly, it may be possible that students are under reporting the exact nature of cheating going on the college, as they have found the new system mutually beneficial by aiding each other . For example, a student cheats and is found by another student, but the latter does not report the cheating as he assumes reciprocity from the other guy when he cheats. This may be repeating in circular way and finally accounting for decrease in the cheating cases over the years at Groveton College.

Secondly, it may be possible that most of the students cheat and therefore do not want to sound hippocritical by pointing out fingers at others. The more honest and sincere ones would most probably be interested in completing their exam in time and score maximum marks rather than waste their time on surveying who is cheating in the class. They may also like to avoid any rivalries with fellow students in the future, which can affect their studies.

Thirdly, it may be possible that survey sample size is extremely small. It may be that only 100 of 1000 students of the college may be surveyed. This results in majority of 51 out of 1000 students. Then the conclusion that honor codes are prefered by the majority students is wrong and it is more likely that more students prefer older methods.

Finally, it may be possible that there has been a general improvement in upbringing in the society over the years, which is strictly against cheating and improved the moral standards. This may account for decrease in the number of cheating cases largely because of the general improvement in moral standards in the society rather than being based on introduction of honor codes in Groven College.

In conclusion, there exists a number of alternative explanations to account for the evidence presented in the argument which might not exactly support its conclusion of honor codes being more successful at reducing cheating in colleges and universities.