Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The given passage concerns the problem of students' cheating. It compares two methods of revealing the cheating. According to the presented facts, a new system, which is called the honor code is much more effective than the previous one - close monitoring by teachers. Probably, it could be reasonable and true that the new system is effective. However, the presented facts may lead to another conclusion than it states the text. So, in order to be sure about the passage conclusion, it will be wise reconsider the facts and try to find plausible explanations.

The first main point of the given passage is data of numbers of cheating among students. At the first sight, it might seem that the logic of the conclusion is perfect and clear, however, the given statistic data could be considered in another way. For example, the drop of cheating numbers might easily state that the new system has problems in its methods of counting. Or put it another, a lot of students merely do not notify their teachers about cases of cheating. It could be quite plausible, because students are young people who care about their social status and how they are perceieved by others. However, considering the new honor code, it is easy to propose that a lot of students disregard cases of cheating. They do not want to let down their peers and spoil their social position. There is no doubt that a student who would inform a teacher about a cheating case, certainly spoiled relationship with his/her peer. Hence, the given fact should be revised.

The second point of the passage is the survey, which indicates that the honor code provokes them do not cheat. In this case, it was not necessary to conduct the survey, because students will always answer this way. They will not be honest in such things, and of course, they answer yes that honor code provokes them do not cheat. Obviously, the survey indicates anything. However, it is only one probable explanation of the given fact.

To sum up, the presented facts could be interpreted in different ways, hence, they could not be the solid base to conclude that the honor code is much more effective system than previous one. In this regard, all facts should be analyzed properly, in order to find the truth, but the given passage does not reveal the actual situation at all.