Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given passage concerns the problem of possible inflated grades in Omega University, because of the system, which evaluate teachers by students. As a result, potential employers are reluctant to hire graduated students from Omega University, anticipating that achievements of students from Omega are over-inflated. Probaly, it might be easily true that the author of text made the right conclusion and the main point of problem is the evaluation system, however, the passage lacks additional evidence that could strengthen the argumentation. Hence, in order to be sure that the evaluation system creates troubles for graduated students, the argumentation should be supported by specific evidence.

Perhpas, the firth point of the argumentation that should be scrutinized is that higher grades resulted from the new evaluation system. Probably, the administration of Omega University implemented a new system of requirements for applying students, which are much more strict and difficult to match. For example, the SAT score requirements became much higher, and it forced average students apply for other universities, while Omega got more talanted students. Hence, the specific evidence should be provided that the applying requriments remained the same. Otherwise, this flaw in the text may undermine the logic of argumentation.

The next thing that sould be discussed is that a competitive race between graduated students from Omega and Alpha. Perhaps, the evaluation system does not create the described problem, and Omega students less likely to find a job, becuase of the different reason. Probably, Alpha teaches such majors that are highly demanded on labor market. For example, Alpha is the university that graduate IT workers, then Omega graduate mostly economists and lawyer. So, this point should be investigated properly. Otherwise, the passage argumentation risks to be undermined.

The most serious question of the passage is the described time span. It says that 15 year ago the system of evaluation was implemented, but, it does not state when students began to have problems in applying for new jobs. Perhpas, such problem emerged two years ago, and there is no any connection between the system and graduated students' troubles. Consequently, the pointed moment should be supported by evidence that during the whole period the problem existed. Otherwise, it will seriously weaken the argument.

To sum up, the given passage tries to investigate the problem of graduated students, and the author of the text made the consclusion that evaluation system is the main point. However, it lacks additional evidence that clafiry and strengthen the argumentation.