Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The excerpt recommends that in order to reverse the trend of decreasing sales of the dog in Gulf City, it is a sound option to place the Top Dog Pet Stores in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. This recommendation rests on series of unsubstantiated evidence and is, therefore, unpersuasive as it stands.

To begin with, the argument fails to provide justification that the sale of dog and the sale of fish are similar. Maybe, the fish is more popular among the people of Gulf City, and people are more inclined to possess the fish rather than the dogs. Or maybe, the cost of fish in Gulf City is more affordable than the cost of the dog. Perhaps, the people spend less money for fish care in comparison to the dog care. As a result, the purchase of fish is a cost-effective option to own a pet. Without providing the sufficient information about the costs of pets, the trend of pet care among the people, it will be an abortive recommendation.

A threshold cause upon which the recommendation relies is that as the Fish Emporium made the profit by advertisement in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly five years ago. The author claims without the warrant that what held true in five years ago will hold faithful today. Even assuming that the sales of dog and fish are identical, the argument is still lacking because it does not provide information to show that the sale and demand have not changed. Since a considerable period of time has passed. Maybe, in the past five years, people's prone toward the pet care have declined and they do not willing to possess a pet anymore. If the argument had presented some clues about the people unaltered incline toward to pet care, then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, even assuming that the supply and demand of pet are stable during till now, there is no lucid testimony that the advertisement in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly will increase the sales and make a profit for the Top Dog Pet Stores. While there is no any concrete statistic of the monthly publishing cost, and its return as a sell for the shops. It is vague conclusion; maybe, the cost of advertisement will be as equal as the monthly earn of shops. In this case, although they eliminate the trend of decreasing sales, they do not make the profit. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated the cost of advertising and its return as earn to shops. In this condition, the assumption of more profit will be acceptable.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is, therefore, unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts about the similarity between the sales of fish and dog in Golf City, the steady incline for pet care in there five years, and the monetary status of the company by advertising. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.