Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors: Aleph

Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders

approximately 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. Aleph’s dormitory, however, has required

approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years. Therefore, to

construct their new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local university should hire Aleph

Construction.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions in the expert’s claim. Be

sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the

argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims, based on the assumption of percentage, that Aleph construction require 10% more on repair and maintenance after construction is over, whereas, Gimmel Builder cost 20% higher on construction work. As, 20% is more than 10, therefore, next project shall goes to Aleph Construction, this year. The may or may not be true, which can be examine by further analysis as followed.

Firstly, expert have assumed that, since, 10 percent is less than 20, Aleph Construction will cost less on this year. The percentage, nevertheless, cannot be compare only if different proportion belong to just one total cost, which in this case is not same, therefor it can be wrong. Take a mathematical instance to prove this statement false, 50 percent of 1000 is 500, but 20 % of 10000 is 2000. Hence, even if twenty percentage is less than 50, overall per portion is four times the other. In this case, total cost of construction and maintenance is not mentioned, that undermine the expert's assumption.

Secondly, a total cost of any construction involve many various costs, such as, primary cost that is directly incurred in connection with building material and labour, supplementary cost consisting other sanitary and fitting charges, and repair and maintenance cost. To determine the total cost, thus, all these costs must be deemed. Only 10 more percentage, even if cost of maintain building countervail, does not sufficiently evaluate final cost. In order to give standard conclusion, such criteria must taken in account.

Finally, efficiency of work is not given, even Gummel Builders cost more, it may possible that they construct in right time or early, nonetheless, other firm may not be able to achieve task in time. In addition to that, material used by first corporation is of superior quality and increase life span of building. For demonstration, grade of concrete in building is 25 (better the lower number like 15 or 20) by Gimmel and 20% by other, duduction total cost. At the end, first firm, though, it cost more, does better job than other. To compare more accurately all factors must be visualize before any decision.