The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp tries to find the truth about the rearing system on Tertia island. He argues against the study of Dr. Field. He suppose that his methods were not accurate and they led to the wrong conclusions about the investigated problem. Perhaps, the conclusion of Dr. Karp might be true and reasonable, however, after a short examination of the passage, it becomes obvious that the text has its weak points that should be supported by specific evidence. Otherwise, Dr. Karp ventures to make a wrong conclusion.

Probably, the one of the main point of the passage is whether Dr. Field conducted his studies with the help of the observation-centred method. The text contains the word "observations", however, it does not explicitly states what kind of method was used. Perhaps, Dr. Field used different approaches, and he made conclusion about the rearing system basing on information from distinct sources and methods. Hence, in order to be sure about Dr. Karp statement, he should provide additional evidence that Dr. Field used only observation-centred method. In this regard, the Dr. Karp's statement will be more solid and trustworthy.

The next serious point of the passage is about Dr. Karp study. He states that he interviewed children form islands that included Tertia island. However, he did not mention that the study was held on Tertia island.

So, in this regard, he must provide information that the study was held on Tertia island too. Otherwise, he ventures to undermine own arguemenation, because, it turns that Dr. Field and Dr. Karp studied different islands. Plus, the passage does not state whether these islands have the same culture or not. Hence, Dr. Karp should provide evidence that Tertia island was included in the study, or at least, that these islands have the same culture and traditions. So, only in this case, his argumentation will be solid and reasonable.

Even if the previous moments are supported with additional evidence and they turn true, it still has the most important point of the text is the period of Dr. Karp investigation. He says that the study of the rearing system was held after 20 years of Dr. Field. Obviously, such important point should be supported by evidence that the traditions and culture were not changed. Perphaps, these islands were subjected the process of global development, and it seriously changed their traditions. So, in this case, the evidence should be provided that the culture was the same.

To sum up, the Dr. Karp tries to undermine the conclusion of Dr. Field investigation, but he seriously lacks additional evidence and information to do it correctly.