The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It might seem logical to agree with the argument in the passage that children in Tertia are raised by their biological parents rather than the whole society and additionally, the interview-based approach is superior to the observation-based approach. Nevertheless, in order to fully evaluate the conclusion, we need a considerable amount of evidence.

The first piece of evidence that we need to evaluate Dr. Karp’s argument is information about whether or not Tertia has changed significantly in the past twenty years. As Field admits in the article, the experiment made by Dr. Field was conducted twenty years ago. It is highly probable that there were some great climate or social changes in the Tertia island which could alter the rearing tradition. For instance, the social structure might undergo great revolutions, a more civilized and democratic government was established there and required all children be raised by their own parents. Plus, the lower birth rate during the twenty years may facilitate the children rearing process in each family. In this case, the argument of both Karp and Field could hold under the constraint of different time background.

Another evidence important to analyze the convincingness of claim is about the specific experiment design. Dr. Karp mentions in the article that his experiment was conducted in many islands including Tertia. However, he does not offer more evidence how many proportion of experiment was done in Tertia and the result of interview in Tertia alone, which could undermine the outcome to a great extent. More specifically, There might be one thousands interviews of which only two or three were done in Tertia. What is more, though children in Tertia talks about their parents a little, children in other islands where they are raised by their biological parents may talk much more since the geological proximity cannot guarantee the culture similarity, thus making the result deceiving. Additionally, the interview conducted by Dr. Karp seems to only concern about who they talk about, but not what they are talking, which is confusing as well, since children might just talk to the researchers how they are rejected by their parents. In both scenario, we need more clear knowledge about the experiment per se to make the argument more convincing.

Last but not least, the author also implicates that the interview-centered approach is more convincing the observational-centered approach. It is thornier to handle this grandiose claim. To begin with, Dr. Karp need the evidence mentioned above to fully convince his own argument first to prove that his interview-centered is effective. Granted that the interview-centered approach in the study of rearing tradition in Tertia island is more effective, a single success cannot validate the whole approach, thus a larger amount of experiments are required to fully evaluate the methodology itself, ideally thousands of anthropological experiments in each approach.

Clearly, in order to better understanding the strength and the weakness of Dr. Karp’s argument, it is necessary to know more about Tertia island’s development over the past twenty years, the specific interview design. Moreover, to extend the single case to fully evaluate the superiority of an approach in anthropology study, considerable amount of study analysis is needed.