The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp, an anthropologist, asserts that Dr. Field’s attempt to understand the child-rearing traditions of Tertia through observation were inaccurate. Dr. Karp also goes on to say that observation-centered approaches in general are invalid, and that interview-centered approaches provide more accurate understanding of cultures. The anthropologist uses the results of his interviews, stating that children in Tertia talk about their biological parents more than the adults in the village, which contradicts the findings of Dr. Field. Dr. Karp relies on assumptions with no clear evidence, and extrapolates the results of one study to fit the needs of every study of every culture.

First, the anthropologist fails to recognize that Tertia may not be the same today as it was 20 years ago. Twenty years ago, the children of Tertia may have been raised by other adults in the village, while today they are raised by their biological parents. Dr. Karp also assumes that because the children of Tertia talk about their biological parents during the interview, that they are not raised by other villagers. The children could very well know both their biological parents as well as adult villagers, but be raised by the villagers. The anthropologist provides no evidence to support these assumptions, which leaves room for doubt in the validity of his statements.

Dr. Karp assumes that cultures cannot be accurately understood through observation, and that all cultures can be accurately understood through interviews. Several cultures taught about today have only been observed, and thus cannot be understood any other way. Just because Dr. Karp’s interviews provided crucial information about the child-rearing traditions of Tertia, does not mean interviews will provide crucial information for all cultures.

This argument can be thoroughly strengthened if he were to include concise evidence to back up his statements. He may be correct in his assumptions, but no support is given, which alters Dr. Karp’s credibility. He should study the history of Tertia, to see if the child-rearing traditions were always this way, or if they have changed over the years. Dr. Karp could also perform research on other cultures, and study how this culture had been studied previously, either by observation or by interview-centered approaches. Allowing the readers of Dr. Karp’s article to view data and analyses may result in more supporters of interview-centered research.

In conclusion, Dr. Karp states that Dr. Field’s observations of the children of Tertia were invalid, and thus all observational research on different cultures is invalid. Dr. Karp believes that interview-based research will provide for more accurate understanding of not only Tertia, but all cultures. He may be correct in his assertions, but there is a lack of conclusive evidence and several generalizations made about cultures in general, which take away from the article’s impact.