The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that launching a 'Shakespeare in the Park" program would positively impact the profits seems convincing at first glance, but the Classical Shakespeare Theater Production does not provide compelling evidence to make their argument cogent. The lack of evidence hinders the possibility of a proper evaluation of the argument's reasoning. Below are a two major discrepancies that enfeeble the argument.

The Classical Shakespeare Theater Productions seem to rely solely on the success of a similar initiative proposed by Avon Repertory Company. However, it is unclear whether the comparison would be relevant. There is no description of the special shows and attractions that the Avon Repertory Company offers, and it remains unknown whether the theater goers in both places have something in common or are rather diverse in their interests and their social and cultural backgrounds. Meanwhile, if the the audiences of the Classical Shakespeare Theater Production and the Avon Repertory Company were surveyed, the data could have been useful in uncovering interesting trends that might strengthen the argument.

In addition, The Classical Shakespeare Theater Production also claims that the nearby Avon Repertory Company has achieved a 10% increase in profits following their initiative. Nonetheless, this information could be misleading. It could be a sudden response from the audience of Avon Repertory to this offer but not a regular trend; there is no evidence that this temporal increase in the audience will be sustainable in the long run. Furthermore, a 10% increase in the audience of Avon Repertory is not a reliable measure to evaluate the eventual success of the proposed initiative by Classical Shakespeare Theatre Production. To put it differently, Avon Repertory audience could have been very small in size before their promotional offer was launched. In this case, a 10% increase does not necessarily prove a substantial increase in the audience or profits.

In brief, the argument the Classical Shakespeare Theater Production is presenting relies on an analogy. It could be right, but the lack of evidence and the ignorance of the multifaceted elements that contribute to audience to leave a theater company or come in higher numbers has been neglected.