The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

The marketing director of Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville suggested that taking into account the declinig audience at the theatre, the theatre should initiate 'Shakespeare in the Park' program to increase the profits considering the same initiative started by Avon Repertory Theatre two years ago. The marketing director gave his opinion based on a similar idea of another company and he suggested that their company's profit will increase by conducting free plays. I would like to argue against the author as the suggestion given by him is a tenuous explaination and it lacks concrete evidence.

First of all, the main reason behind conducting free plays is the decline in average audience at the theatre. The marketing director's suggestion evoked many questions like "What can be the reason behind the decline of audience ?" and "Will there be an increase in profit after conducting Shakespeare in the Park ?". These are the questions that must be taken into account while suggesting an opinion. The decline in average audience is posible due many reasons. People have watched the plays and are not interested in watching it again. The play would be obsolete these days, or the theatre may be charging more for the tickets. Hence, its essential to ascertain the reason behind the decline in audience before suggesting an opinion.

Moreover, the marketing director asserted that inspite of increased advertising, there is a decrease in the audience. This arises many questions like "Was the advertise articulated properly ?". And, its inevident that increase in advertisement will always increase in customers. It can be possible, and it cannot be possible too. It depends on the content of advertisement and the means of advertising. Accordingly, the marketing director should have given better evidence to support his suggestion. Nevertheless, he failed to give credible data to support his argument.

Meanwhile, the marketing director suggested to conduct "Shakespeare in the Park" program in summer to increase their profit margin inasmuch conducted by the Avon Theatre. The director again fails in providing enough support to his statement. Initially he suggests to conduct the free plays in summer, but he did not mention about when the Avon theatre conducted their free plays. In addition to it, the increase in profit of Avon Theatre may be possibly due to a change in their plays, or by giving efficient discount on tickets, etc. Hence, these are the factors to be taken into account, but the author did not mention about it. It is seemingly true that the author failed to collect enough evidence regarding the factors that led to an increase in profit of Avon Repertory Company.

Summing up the points mentioned above, I thereby argue that the suggestion given by the marketing director lacks sufficient proof to support it and the author must ascertain the reason behind the decrease in audience and based on the data, he must find out a solution that can increase the audience in the theatre.