The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues here that adding a bicycle lane to Blue highway is a successful alternative to rush-hour traffic. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis it could be evaluated. On the support of this suggestion, the author cites that adding new bicycle lane would encourage residents to use bicycle to commute. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals it provide little credible support to the author's conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, The argument readily assumes that widening the highway the year before causes more problems as opponents said. This is merely an assumption made with much solid ground. For example, the author did not mention how many people complaints about that. May one or two individuals make the same complaints. The argument would have much more convincing if there is an on-site survey to examine these complaints. If the complaints are true, there may be some other reasons. For example, the behavior of vehicles drives. There should be

Secondly, the author points out that many area residents are keen bicyclists. This again a weak and unsupported claim.as it didn't mention the exact number of residents who are keen bicyclists. The word "many" is a vague word. How does the author know that many of them are keen to use bicycles? If this is true, why they are using other vehicles while this is a cheaper one? If the argument had provided evidence that they are keen to use bicycles, it would have been much more convincing.

Finally, the author cites that adding a new bicycle lane to the highway will encourage residents to use bicycles. This raises skeptical questions. For example, is adding new lane only enough to encourage them to use their bicycles? Is using their bicycles enough to solve the rush-hour traffic? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the author's conclusion is only a wishful thinking.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author needs to provide concrete evidence. Perhaps by way of detailed analysis. To evaluate it better, the author should provide more information about the residents and their behavior.