The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this passage, the author argues that citizens of Forsythe have adapted a more healthy lifestyle. To support his/her claim, he/she cites result of recent survey, sales of foods product containing kiran, and reduced sales of sulia as well. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks crucial supports and therefore we need to consider more evidence to help evaluate such conclusion.

To start off, we need evidence to verify if there exists an improvement for citizens' eating habit. While it is shown that they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendation, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that recent survey reflects the truth of citizens' eating habit or government nutritional recommendation is the right demand for citizens' eating habit. Thus, additional evidence is needed to decide whether the result of survey is impartial and such recommendation is accurate requirement based on scientific research. If new information shows that the result of survey is blemished or officials who draft such recommendation doesn't possess sufficient knowledge or investigation for eating habit, it is reasonably safe to claim that the improvement of citizens' eating habit is groundless and his/her claim will be weakened. On the contrary, if new evidence discloses that all of aforementioned surmise could be eliminated, his/her claim will be strengthened.

Furthermore, we need more evidence to ascertain whether sales of kiran could effectively lead to decline of cholesterol in citizens. First of all, while kiran might help people to ameliorate cholesterol, we need to understand whether food products produced by kiran also keep such functionality. If major ingredients have been refined and the effective elements for curing cholesterol has been greatly removed, the functionality of product to decrease cholesterol is in great doubt and his/her claim will be rendered much less advisable. Second, we need to know the reason whether citizens could take such food products or how frequently they could take as food. If it turns out that citizens seldom eat such food products after buying, we are unconvinced of the wholesome functionality mentioned above.

Last but not least, despite the presence of all previous evidence, a more accurate evaluation of the author's statement regarding also requires further information. Specific evidence is needed to decide whether reduced sales of sulia represent the diminishing chances of eating them by citizens; that is to say, we need to grasp with more concrete statistics about the amount that citizens take sulia in their daily life. If the actual eating amount of sulia doesn't decrease despite its dwindling sales, his/her claim will be weakened. By constrast, if overall ingesting statistics of sulia greatly dampened as its waning sales, we are inclined to regards it as a positive signal that more citizens have stepped into healthier life.

In summary, the evidence cited by the author in the argument could not provide sufficiently conclusive information to make his/her claim compelling. As a result, we need to consider more evidence to help evaluate such conclusion.