The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly state that in order to diminish the number of accident by mopeds, which is popular form of transportation, city council should restrict the number of moped from 50 per day to 25 per day. However the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First the author contends that limit the number of moped rented by companies will reduce accidents among mopeds and pedestrians. However it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether restriction of mopeds by city council could be resulted in decrease the number of accidents or not. One point that should be considered is that as mopeds are popular form of transportation maybe people make purchase of mopeds. Additionally, the number of population is on the rise and there is possibility that the number of accidents increase in near future.

The author also assumes that diminishing the number of mopeds by city council will terminated into 50% reduction in accidents as neighboring island experienced last year. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some detects since you can always ask this question if limit the number of mopeds could be resulted in 50% reduction per year or not. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that perhaps the weather condition was more harsh during last year and few people rented mopeds in rain or snow. Or even myriads of people used safer mopeds during last year. Alongside that, there is possibility that the number of population was lower in neighboring island than Balmer Island.

Finally as set forth by the author limiting the number of mopeds rentals, which caused 50% reduction in accidents in Seaville Island will have similar decline in Balmer Island. Nevertheless, the rationale behind the premise could be challenged owing to an unsettle question if in what extent this analogy is fair enough to compare the situation of both Island. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the population increases during summer months and there is possibility that the number of demands for mopeds is greater in Balmer Island than neighboring Island. Moreover, author does not offer any information or statistic about accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians in Seaville Island.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are number of questions having been ignored by the author, while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premises.