The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The editorial conclude that the council will attain 50 percent reduction by reducing number of rentals, from disjointed and incomplete data. To support this conclusion the editorial required more evident that cites the reasons for accidents.

Firstly, argument said that by reducing 50 percent of number of rentals of mopeds per day, seaville island had attained 50 percent reduction in accidents between mopeds and pedestrians, so balmer island also will attain this scenario. The proponents of the editorial does not provide similarity between this two island, how much population was there in this two islands, how many companies available on both islands for rental of mopeds, and increase in population in summers as well. The argument needs more information that cites similarities of both the islands, that writer can conclude proper assertion.

Secondly, the proponent of argument said that to reduce number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council should limit the number of mopeds rented by rental companies from 50 to 25, but what number of rental companies exists on that island? The assertion required more data on number of companies available on island who gives mopeds on rental. By reducing 50 percent of mopeds that company can rent, would not necessarily reduce the accidents, but that percent can be calculated on the basis of companied available there on island who rents the mopeds.

Furthermore, how much population was there before summers and what is the percent of owners who owns a moped. May be there are owners of moped in balmer island is more then in seaville island. The proponent can not deduce any relation for decreasing number of rentals of mopeds per day without any proper comparison between owner of the moped in this two island and also have to consider the total companies available for rentals. If there are more owner of moped in balmer island, then affect of reduction in number of rentals per day is very small.

In general, it may be said that writer has failed to make a convincing argument that by reducing number of rental per day of moped form 50 to 25 as seaville island council did in the past, that also will attain 50 percent of reduction in balmer island as well. The argument necessarily needs accurate data that cites some similarity of both the islands