The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The argument claims that Balmer Island should limit the number of rented mopeds in summer time in order to decrease the moped accidents since the number of people and moped accidents in the town increase in summer times. The editor’s account on the survey has many problems. The conclusion of the argument, this prohibition will decrease the number of accidents, depends on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several undetermined flaws.

Firstly, the editor claims that the accidents occur only due to the mopeds while there is no such data which proves the same. It is possible that the accidents can occur due to other modes of transportation or due to bad weather in the island. As according to the editor the accidents occur only in summer while it can be more during monsoon and winter due to rain. The editor is describing unconvincing reason for the accidents.

Secondly, there is no data that describes the number of mopeds actually rented during the day. It is possible that the number is less than 25 also if the limit is still 50. So decreasing the limits might not be the solution to decrease the accidents. If the demand for the mopeds is more than 25 and the limit is decreased to 25 then the tourist would face inconvenience in travelling and would look for other travelling options which might also be harmful in the island.

The third reason is the editor has compared the data of Seaville Island with the Balmer Island which is unconvincing. There might be possible that the moped user in Seaville Island is more than in Balmer island. The data of accidents might be different in both the islands. The construction of roads might be different. The exact data of total moped taken on rent every day and total accidents occur should have been shown to compare both the islands.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant statistics about accidents and number of moped users. In order to assess the merits of a certain decision, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.