The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author concludes that by reducing the daily limit for rental mopeds from 50 to 25 for each renatal company will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents. To bolster his assertion he or she is using a case of an neighbouring island Seaville. The argument relies on series of unsubstantiated assumptions.

First of all, the autor is assuming that when the population augments in the summer number of mopeds also increases with equal rate. However, the author offers no evidence to support this crucial assumption. Moreover, the accidents may increase due to other reasons, like overcrowding of the roads, poor road maintenence and may be pedestrians are also responsible for the accidents.

Secondly, the author lacks data to claim a 50 percent drop in the accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, author is not backing it up with figures from rest of the year. It may also be true that the number of accident may remain same for any other time of the year due to some other reasons. Also, it can be proposed that the tourists, increasing the population in summer are pedesterian in majority.

Finally, the author is trying to strengthen his assertion with the help of an example , that the proposed idea was successful for a town in the neighbouring island named Seaville, this argument is unconvincing because no two town can be simillar. We don't know anything about the mentioned town. Moreover, it doesn't mean if it worked for the town of Seaville, it will work for Balmer island.

In conclusion, to convince that the rate of accidents woud decrease with reducing the number of daily rental mopeds, the author would have to provide evidence that moped users increase with the increase of population. Additionally, the author would have to prove that there are no other major reasons for the accidents. Without these additional evidences, I am not convinced that the number of accidents would drop to 50 percent.