The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involv

The described case about the incidents is a worrying one, due to the fact that it concerns human lives. Before a proposal about possible solutions is made, the case should be investigated properly.

The first thing that is needed to shed light on is the causes of incidents. Even though mopeds are popular means of transportation in Balmer Islands, they are not necessarily the cause. The incidents can occur due to the great amount of cars, as well. By giving a proper answer to this question, it can be found out that a ban or somewhat soft regulation is needed concerning other means of transportation.

Secondly, the system of regulations, concerning the traffic, should be taken into account. It can lie behind the reasons of incidents. So, the second question to be addressed refers to the regulations. According to statistics, published by different sources, the poorly organized traffic is one of the major causes of such situations. Therefore, a positive answer to this question means that there is such need, and after applying corresponding regulations, the number of incidents will probably go down.

The third main part to be looked into is about the increase of the number of incidents in summer season. The increased number of such cases is being correlated with the increase of population during the summer season according to the letter. It can be duly noted that this increase comes from the growing number of tourists, but are all tourists involved in such accidents? This is a question to be answered, because it will provide precious information. The results being positive, means that the tourists are not familiar with the traffic regulations in Balmer Island. Thus, some guidelines for tourists are needed to be provided.

The similarity with the case of Seavile should be taken into consideration. If these two cases are not the same, they can’t be compared. Otherwise, some helpful advices should be gained from the experience from the other town.

To conclude I would like to say that all the questions, mentioned in my writing, are essential to be investigated to find out possible sensible and sound solution.